Visiting Committee

Every department at MIT has a Visiting Committee that consists of distinguished scholars, MIT graduates, and several members of the MIT Corporation. These committees typically meet once every two years, at MIT, to hear reports from the Department Head/Director, the faculty, and current students about the department’s current activities and future direction. These committees prepare reports for the President, Provost, and Chancellor that provide an important source of external evaluation for each department. The members of the MIT Institute for Data, Systems, and Society Visiting Committee are listed below. The next IDSS Visiting Committee meeting is scheduled for November 7-8, 2023.

Mr. Mark Gorenberg, Chair
’76 EE
Managing Director
Zetta Venture Partners

Mr. James Champy
’63 CE, ‘65 CE
Business Consultant and Author

Professor Jennifer T. Chayes
Associate Provost; Dean of the School of Information, and
Professor of EECS, Mathematics, Statistics and the School of Information
University of California, Berkeley

Ms. Fiona Chen
’21 MA, ’21 EC
Paul and Daisy Soros Fellow
Harvard University

Ms. Heather Cogdell
’89 EE
Principal Business Process Engineer
MITRE Corporation

Professor Erica R. Fuchs
’99 ML, ’03 TPP, ’06 ES
Department of Engineering & Public Policy
Carnegie Mellon University

Dr. Arthur Gelb
‘61 AA
Four Sigma Corporation

Professor William Hogan
John F. Kennedy School of Government
Harvard University

Professor Matthew Jackson
Department of Economics
Stanford University

Dr. Maria M. Klawe
Harvey Mudd College

Mr. Temitope Lawani
’91 CE
Co-Founder and Managing Partner
Helios Investment Partners

Mr. R. Preston McAfee
Former Chief Economist
Microsoft Corporation

Mr. Jim Miller
‘93 ME, SM ’93

Dr. Thomas Richardson
EE ‘90
Vice President, Engineering
Qualcomm Incorporated

Mr. Jeffrey Silver
’03 MNG
Coyote Logistics

Dr. Hal Varian
’69 EC
Chief Economist
Google Inc.

Dr. Annalisa L. Weigel
Senior Director
Fairmont Consulting Group
’94 AA, ’95 HS, AA ’00, ’02

Mr. C.J. Whelan, III
’92 EE, ’93 MSF
Founder and President
Front Range Technology Group, LLC

Professor Jeannette Wing
’79 EE, EE ’83
Executive Vice President for Research
Columbia University

© MIT Institute for Data, Systems, and Society | 77 Massachusetts Avenue | Cambridge, MA 02139-4307 | 617-253-1764 |