Nations and billionaires pledge money for clean energy
Marketplace | November 30, 2015

Jessika Trancik quoted in segment on Paris climate summit.


New climate negotiations could increase use of low-carbon energy technologies
MIT News Office / MIT Energy Initiative | November 16, 2015

New report by Jessika Trancik and co-authors explores potential impact of anticipated voluntary commitments to greenhouse gas reductions during the 2015 Paris climate negotiations.


New algorithm accelerates complex modeling
MIT News Office | November 16, 2015

Youssef Marzouk and co-authors develop new algorithm that speeds up complex modeling from days to hours.


Alexandre Jacquillat receives two awards at INFORMS
November 7, 2015

Recent Engineering Systems PhD graduate Alexandre Jacquillat was awarded the George B. Dantzig Dissertation Award and the Transportation Science and Logistics section dissertation prize at INFORMS. His dissertation was entitled, “Integrated Allocation and Utilization of Airport Capacity to Mitigate Air Traffic Congestion,” and was supervised by Prof. Amedeo Odoni.

Devavrat Shah and co-authors receive INFORMS award
November 7, 2015

Devavrat Shah, along with co-authors Vivek Farias of MIT Sloan and Srikanth Jagabathula of NYU Stern, received the Revenue Management and Pricing section prize at INFORMS, for their paper, “A Nonparametric Approach to Modeling Choice with Limited Data.”

Ozdaglar appointed to Keithley Professorship
MIT EECS website | November 6, 2015

Asuman Ozdaglar, professor of electrical engineering and computer science, has been appointed to the Joseph F. and Nancy P. Keithley Professorship in Electrical Engineering.


Can Financial Engineering Cure Cancer?
TEDxCambridge | October 30, 2015

Andrew Lo gives talk at TEDxCambridge about better ways of funding early-stage biomedical research and drug development.


From Mobile Data, Drawing Social Circles
MIT Spectrum | October 30, 2015

A recent study extracted phone data from more than 25 million phone users in 155 cities in France, Portugal, and Spain over the course of six months.


Bresler appointed to Tenenbaum Career Development Chair
MIT EECS website | October 27, 2015

Guy Bresler has been named the Bonnie and Marty (1964) Tenenbaum Career Development Professor.


Stefanie Jegelka receives prestigious German prize
MIT CSAIL website | October 19, 2015

IDSS and CSAIL principal investigator Stefanie Jegelka received a prestigious German prize for her research efforts in machine learning.


© MIT Institute for Data, Systems, and Society | 77 Massachusetts Avenue | Cambridge, MA 02139-4307 | 617-253-1764 | Design by Opus